Friday Fictioneers #13 – Photogenic Memory

Studio Lights from Kent

 Copyright Kent Bonham

 

 

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly flash fiction challenge to create a 100 word story based on a photo prompt and then receive as well as share feedback with writers from around the world. Approx 100 submissions are entered every week.

Please read the other submissions here: 

Photogenic Memory

(Word Count: 100)

“Look at us – why didn’t we work out? I mean, over one cocktail, we’ve picked up exactly where we left off.”

“Please! You were SO career-driven. I spent many nights crying myself to sleep – longing to become your priority.”

“The money was fun to spend though. Remember Fiji and the Maldives?

“Yes and I was furious when you cut both trips short for work! See there’s that photogenic memory of yours again.”

“You mean photographic?”

 “No – photogenic. You remember yourself as the handsome star of the show basking in the warm spotlight.”

“Ok. Got it. Next topic…”

23 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers #13 – Photogenic Memory

  1. I love the twist on photographic memory. Neatly spun.

    To me, the second speaker’s conversation drags a little. “I spent many nights crying myself to sleep – longing to become your priority.” feels stilted. It says what she means, but I think she might speak it differently. It seems as though you’re more familiar with the first voice–our male diva star. JMHO, of course. And I do like the story overall.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

Leave a Reply

