Friday Fictioneers #15 – Almost Done

PHOTO PROMPT - Copyright = Douglas M. MacIlroy

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly flash fiction challenge to create a 100 word story based on a photo prompt and then receive as well as share feedback with writers from around the world. Approx 100 submissions are entered every week.

Please read the other submissions here: http://new.inlinkz.com/luwpview.php?id=465857

Almost Done

(Word Count: 42)

Writer: “Everything I write is crap.”

Inner critic: “Correct.”

Writer: “No one will ever take my work seriously.”

Inner critic: “And…”

Writer: “I have no original ideas worth exploring.”

Inner critic: “Ooh! You’re going off script now. My work is almost done.”

8 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers #15 – Almost Done

    • This is my attempt at a PSA for writers 🙂 They say write what you know and that inner critic I know all too well. Hopefully those 42 words will help others to realize for thenselves when the creative block is self imposed and I thought the spider cocooning the prey was a strong visual tool.

  1. Dear BA,

    A devilishly short but good take on the prompt. I know what you mean. My inner critic is allowed his say but that is all. i drive the train. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Thanks Doug! I hope those words will help another writer who hasn’t figured out how to manage that inner critic yet. You’re right…mine is allowed its opinion but over the years I finally installed a mute button.

  2. Oh, dear! I know those voices far too well. I think all writers do. Hope you successfully manage to banish that parasite. Interesting take on the prompt.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

Leave a Reply

