Friday Fictioneers #9 – Kept Quiet

Copyright - Danny Bowman

Copyright – Danny Bowman

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly flash fiction challenge to create a 100 word story based on a photo prompt and then receive as well as share feedback with writers from around the world. Approx 100 submissions are entered every week.

***Dear readers! The last line below is supposed to read “Until we meet again…our words are our kisses”. I triple checked the translation online but please correct me if this doesn’t translate as intended. Also, The 320th Barrage Balloon Battalion was the first African American United States Army unit to come ashore on D-Day (June 6, 1944) during WWII***

Word Count: 100

June 6, 1984

Mon chéri,

Should we tell our families the truth?

Seeing the grandbaby’s face has so overwhelmed me! Even more than these views of Normandy shoreline. If I could’ve stayed with you after my long stint in rehab…I’d have cherished every inflection of your broken English.

As we celebrate another anniversary through letters and photos, the televised memorials of D-Day will come and go with little discussion of the 320th battalion’s contribution to the allied invasion. Race relations here still have a long way to go.

Jusqu’à ce que nous nous réunissons à nouveau…nos mots sont nos baisers.

22 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers #9 – Kept Quiet

    • Thanks draliman! Did you get that the relationship and the presence of African American soldiers during WWII were both “Kept Quiet”?

      The double entendre may have been too subtle…?

      • I actually missed the fact that the 320th Battalion was African American (I was at work and failed to Google it, sorry, and now the phrase “race relations” makes perfect sense.) That makes the story even more poignant – thanks for pointing it out.

  1. Dear BA,

    Given their history, I hope they meet again in person. As for the last line, I don’t speak French so I’ll take your word for the translation. 😉

    good story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thank you Rochelle! This week’s prompt was more challenging for me but your entry was fantastic (“hearts” was a great hook).

      I attempted the double entendre that during WWII there was this secret relationship and the presence of African American soldiers that were both “Kept Quiet”.

      Not certain of my success this week.

  2. Aww, I hope they see each other again soon! I’m guessing they met during war time?

    And I know a bit of French and I understood the sentence without a need for translation. I can’t say if the grammar is 100% but it’s definitely comprehensible!

    • Thanks! I know a little French but needed to use online translator so I wouldn’t botch the story.

      Yes I was trying to convey that this couple met during the war and that she was French and he American that now have I grandchild. Also use of double entendre that their relationship and African American soldier presence were “Kept Quiet”.

      Not so certain of my success for this challenge.

  3. I truly love this. You don’t know my comments very well just yet, but I only say that when I mean it. Awesome story. My favorite so far this week, and that’s saying something. This particular prompt has led to a variety of unique tales. You keep writing! I’m going to keep reading!

    Cheers!
    Marie gail

Leave a Reply

