Friday Fictioneers #8 – Equinimity

image

Copyright Sandra Crook

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly flash fiction challenge to create a 100 word story based on a photo prompt and then receive as well as share feedback with writers from around the world. Approx 100 submissions are entered every week.

Word Count: 71

“At least this job tending to your ex’s horses will be STABLE work.”

“Stop it.”

“Just having a little fun. Don’t want to STIRRUP any trouble.”

“You’re an idiot.”

“I MARE may not be but I’ve got a lot of creativity. You should accept it with EQUINIMITY .”

“You know what…I don’t need the money bad enough to put up with this. I QUIT!”

HAY!

“WHAT?!?!?”

“…don’t BALE on me now!!!”

36 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers #8 – Equinimity

  1. Oh, I LOVE this! Sounds like you’ve been talking with our fearless leader, Rochelle. I’m surprised some of these puns didn’t make it into her piece this week.

    Very punny, my dear.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  2. Good story and cleverly done. A few puns are OK but if you had to listen to them all day long,it would be like being around one of those annoying kids who thinks they’re an echo and repeats every word you say.

  3. Dear Blogged,

    In some circles I’m known as PunDora. But rather than reap-peat myself I’ll say that this story was loads of pun. But I’ve been wagon my tongue long enough so I’ll make a pinto of saying I enjoyed it. (Sorry…at this point, not enough sleep).

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Hilarious wordplay! Loved that you wove such a humorous and cute story through just dialogues- it sounds like s lot but you covered it all in 71 words! You’re amazing 🙂

  5. HAHAHAHAHA!!! I read several FF that made puns on “bale/bail” (as well as other tractor/hay-related words) but they weren’t this purposely cheesy. (I mean that in the best way possible). This reminds me of Austin Powers’ habit of throwing puns at the most inopportune times. Hilarious, and cringey but awesome.

Leave a Reply

